A MORAY community council has been re-established without the need for an election.

Cullen and Deskford Community Council had been dissolved due to the resignation of a number of members.

However, it can now be re-established following a call for nominations.

Six names were put forward, topping the minimum requirement of four.

Members of the new council are Barry Addision, Esther Bruce, Phil Lovegrove, Tam McLennan and Dennis Paterson, all representing Cullen; and Iain Grieve, representing Deskford.

Three vacancies remain – one for Cullen and two for Deskford.

The first meeting of the reformed council will take place at Cullen Town Hall on Monday, September 19 at 7pm.

Moray Council area stretches from Tomintoul in the south to the shores of the Moray Firth, from Keith in the east to Forres in the west. The council and its 4,500 employees respond to the needs of 95,510 residents in this beautiful part of Scotland, which nestles between Aberdeenshire and the Highlands.

Famous for its colony of dolphins, fabulous beaches and more malt whisky distilleries than any where else in Scotland, Moray is a thriving area and a great place to live.

Headquartered in Elgin, the administrative capital of Moray.

Source: All Media Scotland

Sponsored By Supporting Scotland's Towns